About us

Under the Local Government Act, the Wellington City Council, like all local authorities, is responsible for:

To achieve this, the Council delivers a wide range of activities that enhance quality of life for our local communities and create a vibrant experience for visitors to Wellington.

The Council is made up of 15 elected representatives – the Mayor and 14 Councillors. It’s their job to set the city’s overall strategic direction, approve budgets, make bylaws, policies and plans aimed at meeting the community’s needs. A key part of their role is to listen to the community before making decisions.

The Mayor and Councillors are supported in their role by the Tawa and Makara-Ohariu community boards. They are also assisted by the Council’s Chief Executive and staff, who provide advice, implement Council decisions, and look after the city’s day-to-day operations.